2012-09-26 - Otago Riders Podium in Elite Benchmark Round 5

26 Sep 2012


Otago Riders Podium in Elite Benchmark Race- Timaru Round

It was a good weekend for Otago Riders competing in the Timaru round of the Benchmark Homes Elite Cycling Series. Held over a 35km circuit consisting of many rolling hills, 20 Otago riders took to the start in brilliant spring sunshine. The men’s and women’s races were raced over 135 and 113km respectively.

 In the men’s race the pace was hot early on and by halfway Chris Henderson, Gary Gardiner, Chris Harvey and Brendan Hastie pulled out having done the job for team mates. The bad luck of a puncture also forced Justin Stott to a premature finish. A breakaway formed 60km in with many strong riders present including NZ champion James Williamson. With a lap to go Cycle Worlds Alex McGregor decided to try bridge across to the front group 1min 40 ahead. Meanwhile back in the bunch Cycling Otago’s  Brad Evans and Jacob Grieve formed a breakaway group with 4 others to also catch the front.  McGregor united with this group and with 5km to go were only 15sec behind the front. Evans took the chase solo over the speed bumps through the Timaru Reserve catching the front with 2km to go. On the last small climb 1km to go Williamson powered away to finish 1st with Tom Hubbard 2nd and Evans 3rd. McGregor held on for a solid 8th place. Back in the Bunch Mark Spessot, Jo Chapman and Scott Thomas lead the field home with Stu Crooks, Patrick Jones, Paul Gough, Jacob Grieve and Geoff Keogh safely in the bunch.

In the women’s race Reta Trotman destroyed the field completing a memorable solo win. Set up nicely early on by team mates Tess Molley, Carolyn Jenkins and Elyse Fraser, Reta powered out to a 1min lead by the end of the 2nd lap. The bunch found themselves racing for 2nd place as Reta lead extended throughout. By the finish she had to 4 and a half minutes and plenty of time to celebrate. Back in the bunch Carolyn battled admirably to catch back on after finding the pace hard. Elyse reconfirmed her form after podium place in the last round with a solid 5th place in bunch sprint. Triathlete Tess also had a solid race and was even spotted going for a run after the race.

Next the series heads to Nelson with Otago riders chasing points in the overall competitions. Mark Spessot looks to take the Masters jersey, Brad Evans Isn’t far behind in the under 23’s and Reta Trotman is only a handful of points from the woman’s lead.

Otago Rider results

Men 135km - 83 starters (Winners time – 3:13:54)

Pos                         Name                                    Team                                                     Time

3rd                           Brad Evans                          Cycling Otago                                     3:13:57
8th                           Alex McGregor                 CycleWorld                                         3:14:25
14th                         Joe Chapman                     L & M Group Racing Team            3:15:46
15th                         Mark Spessot                    CycleWorld                                         3:15:46
22nd                        Patrick Jones                      Team Calder Stewart Road          3:15:47
24th                         Scott Thomas                     Cycling Otago                                     3:15:47
38th                         Jacob Grieve                      Cycling Otago                                     3:16:17
40th                         Stu Crooks                          Cycling Otago                                     3:16:18
52nd                        Paul Gough                         CycleWorld                                         3:25:01
58th         -              Geoff Keogh                      Cycling Otago                                     3:30:18
60th         -              Tim Chapman                    L & M Group Racing Team            3:47:47

Women 113km - 26 starters (Winners time – 3:13:54)

Pos                         Name                                    Team                                     Time

1st                           Reta Trotman                    Cycling Otago                     3:18:05
5th                           Elyse Fraser                        Cycling Otago                     3:22:38
13th                         Alysha Keith                       H & J’s Outdoor World   3:22:54
15th                         Carolyn Jenkins                 Cycling Otago                     3:23:06

For full results click the following link: