Bailey Saville took out the senior A and B 32-lap handicap race at Seddon Park Velodrome on Tuesday night. Starting two laps ahead of scratch rider Ewan Syme, Saville was the only rider to stay clear of Syme. Starting one lap ahead, James McKellar and Neil Derbyshire crossed the line in third and fourth. Syme was dominant in the elimination race, sprinting for the line ahead of masters riders Derbyshire and Shane Melrose.

Cold weather meant a slow start to the senior B scratch race, although the pace went on as Grieg O’Kane took out the sprint followed by Michael Gawthrop and Sam Hope. A tactical race by Phoebe Swale saw her finish second in the elimination race, behind fellow under 19 rider Ella Harris. Bryony Telford held on for third place.

Senior C and junior A rode together again, providing some stiff competition. Robbie Manning made an early attack in the 6-lap scratch race but managed to hold off Wayne Green and Madeleine Cooper-Forster. Green won the final 16-lap scratch race ahead of rapidly improving Connor McDonald. In an exciting sprint, McDonald finished ahead of Cooper-Forster and his father Grant McDonald.

Gage O’Kane took out the first 5-lap scratch race, ahead of new riders Jack Divers and Lucy Sansom. He was ousted by Divers in the point-a-lap race however, who won 4 points. O’Kane and Sansom were tied on points for second place, but Sansom crossed the line first, relegating O’Kane to third.

New riders Sarah Ford, Will Baron and Theo Smith boosted numbers in the roadster grade. Two qualification heats were held for the 2-lap derby with Ford taking out heat one, qualifying along with Olivia McDonald. Caleb Rollo went through to the final from heat two. The final saw a fast start from McDonald, but she could not hold off Ford who rode away for first place. Second place went to Rollo who rode tactically and finished ahead of McDonald by half a wheel. Smith and Baron rode strongly in the repecharge handicap with junior B to finish in first and second.