Chris Harvey showed himself as the man to beat this season at Seddon Park Velodrome, winning the feature race on the opening night of racing. Harvey won the 24 lap A/B grade scratch race ahead of veteran Neil Derbyshire and rising star Ewan Syme after a 4-rider break lapped the field halfway through the race. Harvey came second in the initial two races, with a slimmed down and on-form Michael Greaves taking out the A grade 8 lap scratch race and 16 lap point-a-lap race.

A calm evening saw 34 riders at the season opening night, with nearly half being new riders who participated in last month’s taster sessions. In the B grade, new rider Craig Thorne took the honours in both the 8 lap scratch race and 10 lap point-a-lap race with podium spots for Michael Gawthorp and Bryony Telford. The C-grade feature scratch race was won by Bryan Murray.

New juniors Mark McCormack and Madeleine Cooper-Forster outrode all opponents in the Australian pursuit, but could not catch each other and the race was called a tie after a gutsy 6 minute ride. Another stand-out junior was Richard van Aalst who won the junior B scratch, and took line honours in the junior A and B mixed handicap.

The under 10 roadster grade started off with a thrilling 2-lap handicap race between Olivia McDonald and Caleb Rollo. A photo finish showed Caleb edged Olivia out over the line, to the delight of the crowd.

Racing is held every Tuesday night from October to March at the Seddon Park Velodrome in Mosgiel starting 6.30pm. Spectators are welcome.


Categories: Uncategorized


Leave a Reply